Fact 12 – ASA grade system

ASA Grading System

It classifies the physical status of the patient preoperatively and assess how the patient will tolerate the anaesthesia.

  • ASA 1 – Normal healthy patient
  • ASA 2 – Patient with mild systemic disease
  • ASA 3 – Patient with severe systemic disease
  • ASA 4 – Patient with mild systemic disease that is a constant threat to life
  • ASA 5 – Moribund patient who is not expected to survive without the surgery
  • ASA 6 – Declared-brain-dead patient whose organs arebeing removed for donor purposes



Author: Sofia Gonçalves

...dreaming about creativity :)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s